Job scam quick guide: it's a scam if...

  • they want you to collect and forward money in any way (a "money mule" job). You'll wind up engaged in money laundering, personally defrauded via expertly forged cheques, money orders, etc, or defrauding someone else who pays for goods that never arrive.
  • they want you to receive packages and reship them somewhere else. The goods will have been obtained fraudulently, and they're just using you to make the shipping address appear local. You will be aiding fraud.
  • they want up-front payment (either to them or someone else) of any sort for anything before you can get the job. This is advance fee fraud: there is no job -- it's just a big con to extract money from you.
  • they want you to buy any kind of "membership" or "kit" in order to start. Forget it -- it's not a real job at all: they're trying to sell you something, and they're probably making a bunch of other false claims about it if they're pitching it as a "job".
  • it's a job offer, and it's spam. There are LOTS of these scams about, as you can see.

Tuesday, May 15, 2007

SaxoForex Ltd

This appears to be the UKFX scam again under a new name. Presents itself as being from , but isn't: the source IP was, which is allocated to a hosting service in Brazil. If anyone cares to talk to these scammers, I'd be interested in hearing more information about what they want you to do, since the spam itself gives away no details, and claims that there is no "cheques clearing, issues or processing" involved, and yet the job title is "account officer".

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: noreply[@] <noreply[@]>
Date: 15-May-2007 16:50
Subject: Job Matches: Start earning working on a flexiplace.

SaxoForex Ltd.

7, High St, Ashford, Kent TN24 9TH

Tel/Fax: +44 7092892496 (Our office hours are 9am - 5pm)

Our HR department has recently reviewed your info and forwarded it to me. I'd like to introduce you to SaxoForex and it's open positions.

SaxoForex Ltd. customer service department is currently offering employment for 11 United States residents and 4 UK residents in order to provide it's new branch with qualified personnel.

*10/05/2007* We have already accepted several suitable resumes and hired 5 persons. Thus, only 10 vacancies are left.

The private client support desk is responsible for following up client enquiries, helping the clients to understand how SaxoForex can save them money on foreign currency transactions, and developing new business through referrals.

If you're a customer service fanatic, and enjoy working in a challenging and rewarding environment, please see below for our current list of opportunities.

Position: Account officer.

Salary: Starting salary is $2500 - $4500 per month, which will be paid to you in accordance with our standard payroll procedures.

In addition, you will be eligible for monthly and annual bonuses.

Relevant work experience: Will be an advantage.

Location: USA (all states)

Education level: College degree is an advantage.

Insurance: 1 month after you begin work, you will be covered under our group health insurance policy, unless you advise us that you do not desire such coverage.

Please forward your full resume, contact information and questions to HR dept. e-mail:

You will be contacted within 1-2 business days.

Should you have any questions regarding this letter, our offer of employment or anything else, please write me an e-mail.

We are excited to have you join our organization and look forward to working with you.


IMPORTANT NOTE: We will never ask you for your credit card details.

Best regards,

Olivia Williams

Employment Manager

SaxoForex Ltd.


Spotter said...

Silly me: I forgot to include the whois data. It's the same registrant as! Our scammer didn't adopt a new personal identity when changing the name of the fake company!

Domain ID:D145733407-LROR
Domain Name:SAXOFOREX.ORG <-- same scam as ""
Created On:10-May-2007 09:01:58 UTC <-- new
Last Updated On:10-May-2007 09:08:58 UTC
Expiration Date:10-May-2008 09:01:58 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:Directi Internet Solutions d/b/a PublicDomainRegistry.Com (R27-LROR)
Registrant ID:DI_5950553
Registrant Name:jet li
Registrant Organization:n/a
Registrant City:shanghai
Registrant State/Province:Shanghai
Registrant Postal Code:787654
Registrant Country:CN
Registrant Phone:+000.000000000
Name Server:NS1.WSHOST.ORG
Name Server:NS2.WSHOST.ORG

Anonymous said...

This group claims to wire funds into your account and then you are to withdraw the funds and send them Western Union to the person named.

They appear on the surface to be extremely well organized and professional.

I am curious how they "wire" the funds legitimately?

Spotter said...

No doubt they are well organised and professional: this is the early 21st century version of organised cybercrime.

This is just a typical money mule scam. The money they "wire" to you is a direct transfer out of a bank account they have compromised via a "phishing" attack. So basically they are sending you stolen money, and want you to forward it to them. That's illegal, of course.

Matthew said...

I fell for this scam, I'm actually on the phone, as I'm writing this, to my bank. I thought I did enough research into this company but I guess not. They are extremely legit looking and seem to have a good business. I'm a fricking business student and I fell for it, I was just looking for some supplemental income. Thanks for heads up.

Anonymous said...

Hello, I would like to know if you ARE SURE this company is a scam???

Do you know WHERE I could find out if the company registration name is real? because in their site they give the registration number of the company and also for the laudering...Where can I send you the e-mail they sent me so you can check the IP and check if it is the same as the one you are giving here!!! or how can I check this PLEASE

Spotter said...

If you want to check up on registered UK companies, go to Companies House. There is no registered company called SaxoForex. Even if there were such a company, you have no guarantee that the people running the website actually represent the company in question. Your biggest clue to the fact that this is a scam is the WHOIS registration data. Scams like this are nearly always new -- sometimes only days old. If it's been registered for five years or so, then there's not so much chance it's a scam.

Please don't get scammed by these people. Assume it's a scam unless they can prove it isn't -- not the other way around.

Spotter said...

Speaking of WHOIS data, I note that the SaxoForex scammers are presently operating from "SXFOREX.COM", registered 10-may-2007; "SAXOFOREX.INFO", registered 10-May-2007; and "SXFOREX.ORG", also registered 10-May-2007. Why so many domain names? Because some registrars revoke the name when they are reported as a scam, or when they discover the payment was made with a compromised credit card. There are probably more names waiting in the wings.

Anonymous said...


I already did four transactions for these people.

I searched all over the internet before I started to make sure this was not a scam, and what do you know. I don't know what to do now!

I will not transfer anymore funds.

Anonymous said...

Look at the saxoforex web site.
It certainly looks legitimate.

Registered Company Name: SaxoForex Ltd. Registered in England & Wales, Number: 5193289.
HM Revenue & Customs Certificate of Registration for Money Laundering Regulation, Number: 13191707.
Copyright © 2004 - 2007 SaxoForex Ltd.

Spotter said...

Of course it looks legitimate -- these people conduct scams like this for a living. However, if you try to verify any of the information by looking it up through official channels (rather than taking their word for it), you'll find it's all made up!

Anonymous said...

I fell for this scam. I am British and did some homework on this company but obviously not enough.

On June 11th I reported this as an internet crime/scam with the FBI and locked my bank account in the nick of time.

Be careful in cyberspace, they are getting good...