Job scam quick guide: it's a scam if...

  • they want you to collect and forward money in any way (a "money mule" job). You'll wind up engaged in money laundering, personally defrauded via expertly forged cheques, money orders, etc, or defrauding someone else who pays for goods that never arrive.
  • they want you to receive packages and reship them somewhere else. The goods will have been obtained fraudulently, and they're just using you to make the shipping address appear local. You will be aiding fraud.
  • they want up-front payment (either to them or someone else) of any sort for anything before you can get the job. This is advance fee fraud: there is no job -- it's just a big con to extract money from you.
  • they want you to buy any kind of "membership" or "kit" in order to start. Forget it -- it's not a real job at all: they're trying to sell you something, and they're probably making a bunch of other false claims about it if they're pitching it as a "job".
  • it's a job offer, and it's spam. There are LOTS of these scams about, as you can see.

Thursday, May 24, 2007


Well this is brief and to the point. They do a bad job of impersonating, and suggest that Genevafinance INC is interested in your resume, so go to their site. The site is slick enough, and -- guess what -- they have lots of vacancies for regional representatives (better known as "money mules" 'round these parts). Same old same old, really.

Domain Name:                                 GENEVAFINANCE.BIZ <-- scam
Domain ID:                                   D17706675-BIZ
Sponsoring Registrar:                        SCHLUND + PARTNER AG
Sponsoring Registrar IANA ID:                83
Registrant ID:                               SPAG-36008164
Registrant Email:                  
Name Server:                                 NS57.1AND1.COM
Name Server:                                 NS58.1AND1.COM
Created by Registrar:                        SCHLUND + PARTNER AG
Domain Registration Date:                    Thu May 03 03:23:10 GMT 2007 <-- recent
Domain Expiration Date:                      Fri May 02 23:59:59 GMT 2008

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: amit_sigal[@] <amit_sigal[@]>
Date: 24-May-2007 19:20
Subject: Interest. CareerBuilder.

Hello dear Jobseeker,

Genevafinance INC is interested in your resume. To learn more about this opportunity please visit . Available positions are posted in the Employment section.

Tim Johnson

Careerbuilder Support Team

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I just received this message from Canada, the sender is "Nickolas". I decide to do a search on google and I found this site. The message contents exactly from what I received. Thanks.