Job scam quick guide: it's a scam if...

  • they want you to collect and forward money in any way (a "money mule" job). You'll wind up engaged in money laundering, personally defrauded via expertly forged cheques, money orders, etc, or defrauding someone else who pays for goods that never arrive.
  • they want you to receive packages and reship them somewhere else. The goods will have been obtained fraudulently, and they're just using you to make the shipping address appear local. You will be aiding fraud.
  • they want up-front payment (either to them or someone else) of any sort for anything before you can get the job. This is advance fee fraud: there is no job -- it's just a big con to extract money from you.
  • they want you to buy any kind of "membership" or "kit" in order to start. Forget it -- it's not a real job at all: they're trying to sell you something, and they're probably making a bunch of other false claims about it if they're pitching it as a "job".
  • it's a job offer, and it's spam. There are LOTS of these scams about, as you can see.

Monday, May 14, 2007

Animal Reserve (fake charity)

This is a money mule scam: the only thing that's different about it is the cover story. In this case, the scammers pretend to be a charitable organisation dedicated to saving pandas. Cute, cuddly pandas. Who could say no to that? Sorry, it's a pack of lies: do a little research and you'll find that none of the names they drop (like "WWF" and "Greenpeace") recognise their existence.

   Domain Name: ANIMALRESERVE.NET <-- scam
   Registrar: ONLINENIC, INC.
   Whois Server:
   Referral URL:
   Name Server: NS1.LUCKYFLINT.COM
   Name Server: NS2.LUCKYFLINT.COM
   Updated Date: 10-apr-2007
   Creation Date: 04-jan-2007 <-- not exactly new, but recent enough to be suspicious
   Expiration Date: 04-jan-2008

Domain ID:D137215819-LROR
Domain Name: ANIMAL-RESERVE.ORG <-- same scam
Created On:13-Jan-2007 13:32:14 UTC <-- same vintage
Last Updated On:15-Mar-2007 04:42:08 UTC
Expiration Date:13-Jan-2008 13:32:14 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:EstDomains, Inc. (R1345-LROR)
Registrant ID:DI_5367900
Name Server: NS2.DOCLOGS.BIZ

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: <2bo9d7[@]>
Date: 14-May-2007 13:10
Subject: free vacancy

Everybody had ever thought of starting to work and to earn a lot of
money. But as often happens there is a lack of time and opportunity or
even the desire to sit in the office all the days. At first glance seems
that this is impossible!

But you haven's seen what we can offer yet.
-       free schedule of work
-       work almost at home
-       earnings about $2000 per month + bonuses!
-       friendly stuff
-       free training
-       and its not all yet:

The point is that our company is in close association with WWF, Green
peace and other unexplored wilderness life-saving organizations. Our
company attends to takings for the sake of PAND.
So you will also carry out an important function for the welfare of
your planet.

Join us, there are more the 200 people!
Join us and stand for you and your planet in good stead!
Join us and you won't regret!

All detailed information is at our site

Best regards,

No comments: