Job scam quick guide: it's a scam if...

  • they want you to collect and forward money in any way (a "money mule" job). You'll wind up engaged in money laundering, personally defrauded via expertly forged cheques, money orders, etc, or defrauding someone else who pays for goods that never arrive.
  • they want you to receive packages and reship them somewhere else. The goods will have been obtained fraudulently, and they're just using you to make the shipping address appear local. You will be aiding fraud.
  • they want up-front payment (either to them or someone else) of any sort for anything before you can get the job. This is advance fee fraud: there is no job -- it's just a big con to extract money from you.
  • they want you to buy any kind of "membership" or "kit" in order to start. Forget it -- it's not a real job at all: they're trying to sell you something, and they're probably making a bunch of other false claims about it if they're pitching it as a "job".
  • it's a job offer, and it's spam. There are LOTS of these scams about, as you can see.

Friday, February 16, 2007

First Trader Company

Nonspecific job offer -- probably yet another money mule job. I'll post further details if they're silly enough to reply to a request for further information from someone called "Deception Spotter".

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Louie Rich <>
Date: 17-Feb-0007 09:21
Subject: Company seeks for employees

Good day!

We are looking for the honest and responsible people to cooperate with our "First Trader Company" from your home.
There are different kinds of a part time job that we will offer you.

We are waiting for your resume at our contact email:

First Trader

Sure enough, here's their canned response to requests for further information. They assure us it's not advance fee fraud or a pyramid scam -- which is true, because it's a money mule scam ("payment processing").

Domain Name:                                 FIRSTTRADER.US <-- scam
Domain ID:                                   D11901464-US
Sponsoring Registrar:                        TUCOWS INC.
Registrant ID:                               TULG2LOVH3KWHERM
Registrant Email:                  
Name Server:                                 NS2.HYPERMART.NET
Name Server:                                 NS1.HYPERMART.NET
Created by Registrar:                        TUCOWS INC.
Domain Registration Date:                    Tue Feb 13 20:31:35 GMT 2007 <-- new
Domain Expiration Date:                      Tue Feb 12 23:59:59 GMT 2008

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: <>
Date: 17-Feb-2007 09:14
Subject: Re: Company seeks for employees

Good day,
Thank you for your letter.
From the beginning we should inform you, that you will be absolutely secured with us. You don't need to pay for join, like most internet companies ask.
Be careful of scam! We will never ask you to send us your password or credit card number in an email.
If you will get an email from someone asking you for credit card number or password, please inform us immediately about it.
We give you a job and we Pay to You. We don't need your personal information for it.
We are glad to see you are interested in a job.
>From now we will work personaly with you and help you to do this job in the right way.
We will care about your security and comfort. You will get your 1st salary in 2 weeks after join and it will be your guaranted salary for every 2 weeks during next 2 years.
Our employers have a salary 1900$ twice a month + 5% commision from each well done job.
This is a good salary for the part time job, but in return we require a honesty and a responsibility from you.
You will do this job from your home just being in touch with us and getting instructions online.
This job is given to you for 2 years.
We give the job to everyone and we pay good money, so if you want to keep this job for a long time, you should do it very well.
Now you should visit our web site and learn what our company does and what job is for you.
You should contact us for instructions and for next steps by ICQ:466130076 or after your registration.
Best Regards,
FirstTrader CO
-----Original Message-----
Sent: Thu, 15 Feb 2007 5:39 PM
Subject: Re: Company seeks for employees

What sorts of positions are you offering?

Check out the new AOL . Most comprehensive set of free safety and security tools, free access to millions of high-quality videos from across the web, free AOL Mail and more.


Anonymous said...

Good work, Spotter.
But I need the full headers of the second e-mail to shut down their web site. Hope you know how to do.
Awaiting your post.

Spotter said...

Full headers from response.

Received: by with SMTP id f14cs23766pyk;
Fri, 16 Feb 2007 14:15:14 -0800 (PST)
Received: by with SMTP id f2mr6260806wxf.1171664114004;
Fri, 16 Feb 2007 14:15:14 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path: <>
Received: from ( [])
by with ESMTP id i35si7928642wxd.2007.;
Fri, 16 Feb 2007 14:15:13 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: pass ( domain of designates as permitted sender)
Received: from
by (mail_out_v38_r7.6.) id o.bda.f755979 (60451)
for <>; Fri, 16 Feb 2007 17:14:53 -0500 (EST)
Received: from webmail-da15 ( []) by (v114_r3.2) with ESMTP id MAILCIAAOLR014-ec2345d62cdc72; Fri, 16 Feb 2007 17:14:52 -0500
References: <>
Subject: Re: Company seeks for employees
Date: Fri, 16 Feb 2007 17:14:52 -0500
In-Reply-To: <>
X-MB-Message-Source: WebUI
MIME-Version: 1.0
From: firsttraderco@AOL.COM
X-MB-Message-Type: User
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
X-Mailer: AOL WebMail 23546
Received: from by ( with HTTP (WebMailUI); Fri, 16 Feb 2007 17:14:52 -0500
Message-Id: <>
X-Spam-Flag: NO

Anonymous said...

Thanks. DONE!

Anonymous said... suspended: 18.02.07