Job scam quick guide: it's a scam if...

  • they want you to collect and forward money in any way (a "money mule" job). You'll wind up engaged in money laundering, personally defrauded via expertly forged cheques, money orders, etc, or defrauding someone else who pays for goods that never arrive.
  • they want you to receive packages and reship them somewhere else. The goods will have been obtained fraudulently, and they're just using you to make the shipping address appear local. You will be aiding fraud.
  • they want up-front payment (either to them or someone else) of any sort for anything before you can get the job. This is advance fee fraud: there is no job -- it's just a big con to extract money from you.
  • they want you to buy any kind of "membership" or "kit" in order to start. Forget it -- it's not a real job at all: they're trying to sell you something, and they're probably making a bunch of other false claims about it if they're pitching it as a "job".
  • it's a job offer, and it's spam. There are LOTS of these scams about, as you can see.

Sunday, December 02, 2007


This money mule job scam may be brief, but it's being sent in significant quantity.

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: [redacted (false)]
Subject: MFG offers new job
To: [redacted (privacy)]

We are glad to inform you that currently have an opening position as a Processing Manager at MFG.

This is a part time job, in home, salary based. Step by step training, and great career opportunities.
Requirements are:
- good social skills
- ability to use email.
- internet access.

Please contact us for details at


Spotter said...

This domain name appears to have been rather short-lived.

Domain ID:D149896312-LROR
Created On:23-Nov-2007 09:56:14 UTC
Last Updated On:01-Dec-2007 12:37:04 UTC
Expiration Date:23-Nov-2008 09:56:14 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:Xin Net Technology Corporation (R118-LROR)

Spotter said...

Domain Name: WEB-CV-BASE.COM
Whois Server:
Referral URL:
Updated Date: 01-dec-2007
Creation Date: 23-nov-2007
Expiration Date: 23-nov-2008

Spotter said...

Apparently "MFG" stands for "Marvell Financial Group"

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Subject: Marvell Financial Group - job vacancy

Marvell Financial Group is a financial-leading provider of world-class technologies is once again beginning a global campaign of employing new staff in Australia. We are offering you one more opportunity to earn extra cash working with us.

We are looking for honest, responsible, hard-working people to operate with our company in your particular region. To optimize our work with existing clients and to expand our business we need new staff that can dedicate 2-4 hours of their time per day and earn extra 700-1000 AUD weekly. All offered positions are currently part-time and give you a chance to work mainly from home.

There are no fees or monetary expenses for you whatsoever. We offer an honest and dependable opportunity for you to get some extra cash working with us.

If you are interesting in our propose please contact us for details at

Spotter said...

Domain Name: JOB-CV-BASE.COM
Whois Server:
Referral URL:
Updated Date: 12-dec-2007
Creation Date: 12-dec-2007
Expiration Date: 12-dec-2008

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Subject: Marvell FG open vacancies

We have seen your profile on the of the employment websites.
We offer very flexible schedule great programs where personal qualities affect earnings. Position does not require and
specific knowledge but willingness to learn, determination, basic knowledge of computer and management skills. The nature of
job is transaction processing. You will receive the transfers our customers/resellers send directly to you and forward it to
us or our agents via one of chosen money transfer agencies.
During trial period your salary will be $900 per month plus 6% commission for every payment received from a client and
processed by you. Your total income may be up to $2000 per month. Your base salary after the trial period, will be $1600 per
month plus 8% commission.
And if you are looking for career there is a chance of becoming a part of our team in the future (based on your performance),
team in which you will be truly respected and honestly rewarded. We hope to hear from you soon, if you should have any
questions please do not hesitate to ask.

If interested please, contact us, stating your country of residence as well.